Conn Smythe Trophy Winners 2024: Top Contenders for the Playoff MVP

Alright hockey fans, the 2024 Stanley Cup Playoffs are in full flight, and the excitement is palpable. The most sought-after accolade during this season is the Conn Smythe Trophy, awarded annually to the most valuable player (MVP) in the playoffs. The speculation about the Conn Smythe Trophy winners 2024 is already heating up. This piece will delve into the history of the trophy, how odds are calculated, the favourites for 2024, and discuss recent Conn Smythe winners. We’ll also make some predictions about who might walk away with the trophy this year.

Conn Smythe Trophy: A Walk Through History

The Conn Smythe Trophy has been a significant part of the NHL since 1965. Named after Conn Smythe, former coach, manager, and owner of the Toronto Maple Leafs, the trophy is awarded to the player who proves to be indispensable during the playoffs. The list of Conn Smythe winners is a who’s who of hockey legends, including Wayne Gretzky, Mario Lemieux, and Bobby Orr, who have all made significant contributions to their teams’ playoff success.

Winning the Conn Smythe Trophy not only solidifies a player’s place in the annals of hockey history but also adds significantly to their legacy.

Conn Smythe Trophy Candidates: 2024 Favorites

Looking ahead to the 2024 playoffs, there are a few names that stand out as strong Conn Smythe Trophy candidates. The Edmonton Oilers’ Connor McDavid and the Colorado Avalanche’s Nathan MacKinnon are two such players. Their consistent performances and significant contributions to their teams make them strong contenders for the Conn Smythe Trophy winners 2024. Yet you look at the Eastern Conference and there are a number of players that can be considered for Playoff MVP.

Conn Smythe Trophy Winners: A Look Back

Before we speculate about the Conn Smythe Trophy winners 2024, let’s look at some of the recent winners. The 2023 trophy was awarded to Johnathan Marchessault of the Vegas Golden Knights, who led his team to a Stanley Cup victory with his extraordinary performance. Cale Makar of the Colorado Avalanche won the coveted award in 2022, thanks to his electrifying performances that took the Avalanche to the Stanley Cup Championship. Here is a look at the recent Conn Smythe Trophy winners:

2023: Jonathan Marchessault, Vegas Golden Knights

2022: Cale Makar, Colorado Avalanche

2021: Andrei Vasilevskiy, Tampa Bay Lightning

2020: Victor Hedman, Tampa Bay Lightning

2019: Ryan O’Reilly, St. Louis Blues

2018: Alex Ovechkin, Washington Capitals

2017: Sidney Crosby, Pittsburgh Penguins

2016: Sidney Crosby, Pittsburgh Penguins

2015: Duncan Keith, Chicago Blackhawks

2014: Justin Williams, Los Angeles Kings

2013: Patrick Kane, Chicago Blackhawks

2012: Jonathan Quick, Los Angeles Kings

2011: Tim Thomas, Boston Bruins

2010: Jonathan Toews, Chicago Blackhawks

2009: Evgeni Malkin, Pittsburgh Penguins

2008: Henrik Zetterberg, Detroit Red Wings

2007: Scott Niedermayer, Anaheim Ducks

2006: Cam Ward, Carolina Hurricanes

2004: Brad Richards, Tampa Bay Lightning

2003: Jean-Sebastien Giguere, Mighty Ducks of Anaheim*

2002: Nicklas Lidstrom, Detroit Red Wings

2001: Patrick Roy, Colorado Avalanche

2000: Scott Stevens, New Jersey Devils

Predicting the Conn Smythe Winner 2024

As the 2024 NHL Stanley Cup Playoffs progress, speculation about the potential Conn Smythe winner can and will change by series. Established stars like Connor McDavid, Nathan MacKinnon, and Igor Shesterkin are always strong contenders, but there’s also room for breakout performances from young talents like Jeremy Swayman, Wyatt Johnston, and Quinn Hughes. Every team that has made it to the final eight are good teams and have strong candidates for playoff MVP.

The Conn Smythe Trophy will be awarded to the player who demonstrates exceptional talent, leadership, and impact throughout the postseason. As the 2024 NHL playoffs unfold, fans will be eagerly watching to see who will be crowned the MVP of this highly anticipated tournament. Prior to the playoffs starting, The Hockey Fanatic suggested three Conn Smythe Trophy candidates from each team. With the final eight teams, there may be some emerging candidates.

8 Darkhorse Conn Smythe Candidates

Here is a look at a dark-horse candidate from each of the remaining playoff teams.

Boston Bruins: Jeremy Swayman

Carolina Hurricanes: Seth Jarvis

Florida Panthers: Carter Verhaeghe

New York Rnagers: Mika Zibanejad

Colorado Avalanche: Valeri Nichuskin

Dallas Stars: Wyatt Johnston

Edmonton Oilers: Matias Ekholm

Vancouver Canucks: Brock Boeser