2024 Stanley Cup Playoffs: Conn Smythe Candidates

Ok hockey fans so the 2024 NHL Playoffs are amongst us. Hockey fans around the Globe are giddy with anticipation of which of the sixteen post season teams will capture hockey’s Holy Grail, the Stanley Cup. The Conn Smythe Trophy is awarded annually to the most valuable player (MVP) of his team during the National Hockey League’s Stanley Cup Playoffs.

Anyone remember the last player (non-goalie) to win the Conn Smythe for a Canadian-based team? If you guess Al MacInnis of the Calgary Flames in 1989 you would be correct.

We thought it would be fun to look at playoff MVP candidates from each of the playoff teams.

NHL Conn Smythe Trophy Candidates by Team

Here are our picks for which players have a chance to capture the playoff MVP glory. For each of the sixteen post season teams we have selected a Favourite and a Dark Horse MVP pick.

Eastern Conference Playoff MVP Candidates

Boston Bruins Boston Bruins logo

Favourite: David Pastrnak

Dark Horse: Jeremy Swayman

Carolina Hurricanes Carolina Hurricanes logo

Favourite: Sebastian Aho

Dark Horse: Jaccob Slavin

Florida Panthers Florida Panthers logo

Favourite: Matthew Tkachuk

Dark Horse: Brandon Montour

New York Islanders New York Islanders logo

Favourite: Semyon Varlamov

Dark Horse: Matt Barzal

New York Rangers New York Rangers logo

Favourite: Igor Shesterkin

Dark Horse: Adam Fox

Tampa Bay Lightning Tampa Bay Lightning logo

Favourite: Nikita Kucherov

Dark Horse: Brandon Hagel

Toronto Maple Leafs Toronto Maple Leafs logo

Favourite: Auston Matthews

Dark Horse: Morgan Reilly

Washington Capitals Washington Capitals logo

Favourite: Tom Wilson

Dark Horse: Max Pacioretty

Western Conference

Colorado Avalanche Colorado Avalanche Logo

Favourite: Nathan MacKinnon

Dark Horse: Alex Georgiev

Dallas Stars Dallas Stars logo

Favourite: Jake Oettinger

Dark Horse: Joe Pavelski

Edmonton Oilers Edmonton Oilers logo

Favourite: Connor McDavid

Dark Horse: Mattias Ekholm

Los Angeles Kings Los Angeles Kings logo

Favourite: Anze Kopitar

Dark Horse: Drew Doughty

Nashville Predators Nashville Predators logo

Favourite: Roman Josi

Dark Horse: Jusse Sarros

Vancouver Canucks Vancouver Canucks logo

Favourite: Thatcher Demko

Dark Horse: Elias Pettersson

Vegas Golden Knights Vegas Golden Knights logo

Favourite: Mark Stone

Dark Horse: Adin Hill

Winnipeg Jets: Winnipeg Jets logo

Favourite: Connor Hellebucyk

Dark Horse: Josh Morrissey

There you have it., our pre-playoff picks for Stanley Cup playoff MVP. Here is a look at the all-time winners of the Conn Smythe Trophy: