New York Islanders Stats

Welcome to the New York Islanders Stats page.  The stats pages on are meant to list what we as hockey fans associate with each particular team.  Our stats pages will include our version of the all-time New York Islanders team as well as obscure stats about the team.  Notes stats are as of the start of the 2011-12 season (unless otherwise indicated).

Did You Know?  In the early eighties, the New York Islanders had a bitter rivalry with the Edmonton Oilers as it would be the Oilers who would dethrone the Islanders in their quest for their fifth straight Stanley Cup?  The Islanders have had thirteen captains in their history with three of these being ex-Oilers in:  Michael Peca, Bill Guerin and Doug Weight.

New York Islanders Statistics

New York islandersDebut Season:  1972-73
# of Stanley Cups: 4 (1980-83)
Longest Playoff Streak: 14 years (19765-1988)
Most Wins in a Season: 54 – 1981-82
# of captains in team history: 13
# of coaches in team history: 16
Most Coaching Wins: Al Arbour 740
Most Goals in a Season: 385 – 1981-82
Most Points All Time: Bryan Trottier – 1,353
Toughest New York Islanders player of all-time (penalty minutes): Mick Vukota
# of retired jerseys: 7
Most Games Played:  Bryan Trottier – 1,123
Most Goalie Wins: Billy Smith – 304
Most Popular Player of All-Time:  Bryan Trottier

Carolina Hurricanes All-Time Team

Coach:  Al Arbour

Goalie:  Billy Smith

Defenseman: Dennis Potvin

Defenseman:  Ken Morrow

Left-wing:  Clark Gillies

Center:  Bryan Trottier

Right-wing:  Mike Bossy

Enforcer:  Mick Vukota

Top 25 All-Time Most Popular New York Islanders

  1. Bryan Trottier
  2. Denis Potvin
  3. Mike Bossy
  4. Billy Smith
  5. Pat LaFontaine
  6. Clark Gillies
  7. Brent Sutter
  8. John Tonelli
  9. Bob Nystrom
  10. Bob Bourne
  11. Patrick Flatley
  12. Ken Morrow
  13. Duane Sutter
  14. Derek King
  15. Glenn Resch
  16. John Tavares
  17. Mick Vukota
  18. Rick DiPietro
  19. Butch Goring
  20. Michael Peca
  21. Garry Howatt
  22. Kelly Hrudey
  23. Benoit Hogue
  24. Kenny Jonsson
  25. Alexei Yashin